About Us

The Sylacauga Community Playhouse was started in the late 1970's by board members Lois Fields, Maxye Veazey, and Dollie Roberts. The theatre, which was a part of the Sylacauga Recreation Center, opened its first show Clarence Darrow in 1981, a one man show starring Edward Miller. It was followed by a production of I Do, I Do, starring Suzy Hammonds and Lynn Sheerly. Over the next 30 plus years the playhouse produced shows such as Steel Magnolias, You Can't Take It With You, Sound of Music, Fiddler on the Roof, Hello Dolly, and more! Altogether, the playhouse performed over 50 plays, musicals, self-written melodramas, children's plays and musicals, and reader's theatre. In December of 2014, the playhouse became incorporated and was purchased by Sherry Vickers and Dan Nixon, and in 2016 it became a board operated 501(c)3 nonprofit organization. Along with these changes, the playhouse adopted a new mission statement and bylaws, which focus on theatre education, character development in children, and those who are physically and mentally challenged. We are thrilled for the opportunity to perform and encourage a love of the arts in our community. 

The 2023 SCP Board of Directors are:

John Davidson, President
Sherry Vickers, Vice President
Megan Ward, Treasurer
Christina Benz, Secretary
Jodi Courington, Membership Chair
Jeanna Jacks
Traci Wimmer

Board meetings are typically held the first Monday of each month, and the membership is encouraged to attend. Members who choose to attend board meetings are only permitted to speak if they have submitted a request in advance to be placed on the agenda. Members are also encouraged to stay up-to-date with the latest SCP information by reading the board meeting minutes.  

Click here to access the meeting minutes for 2023.

Click here to access the meeting minutes for 2022.

Click here to access the meeting minutes for 2021.

Click here to access the meeting minutes for 2020.

Click HERE to access the meeting minutes for 2019. 

Click HERE to access our by-laws.